Young Scientists Recognised

Three of Headington’s finest scientific minds were recognised in this year’s Young Scientists of the Year celebration.

The event is an opportunity for Oxfordshire’s secondary schools to nominate their best Year 13 students in Physics, Chemistry and Biology to be acknowledged for their outstanding efforts in Science during the past year. The criteria used to select award-winners is left up to each school. It could be based on exam results, progress made during the student’s course or recognition of their enthusiasm and commitment towards the subject. It is a fantastic feel-good event and a wonderful opportunity to acknowledge our young local science talent.

Headington’s three winners were Libbeth, Kseniia and Yu.

The award ceremony took place at the Oxford University Museum of Natural History on Wednesday 16th October. The event included a keynote presentation given by Philippa Matthews, Director of Graduate Studies for Oxford University’s Nuffield Department of Medicine, and further contributions from a number of inspirational young researchers and apprentices.

This event is supported by the Nuffield Department of Medicine and the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory.