Head Girl trio announced in virtual assembly

The School came together virtually on Friday 27th March for a final end-of-term assembly.

The current Head Girl trio, Katherine Pango, Teresa Macey-Dare and Georgie Cutmore, along with Sports Prefect Lexi, reported on some of the many and varied achievements during the term while school chaplain the Rev Tom Howell provided a thought-provoking Easter message.

Before signing off with a message to girls to be kind and stay in touch with each other, Headmistress Caroline Jordan made an exciting announcement.

The last few weeks in school saw a competitive and impressive prefect selection process, with 12 girls vying for a role in the Head Girl trio and over 70 girls applying for one of 42 different prefect positions. Following hustings, interviews with Mrs Jordan and Pastoral Director of Sixth Form Mr Simon Drew, and a vote by U5, sixth formers and staff, the process had to be truncated and most of the roles will not be announced until next term.

However, Mrs Jordan announced that the Head Girl trio would be as follows: Milly Drinkwater as Head Girl, Alexia Roberts as Head of Day and Juliet Barnard as Head of Boarding. The trio had their first meeting with Mrs Jordan – and with the outgoing trio – virtually on Friday morning.

Mrs Jordan said: “At times like this, it is really lovely to be able to announce something so positive. We were hugely impressed with all the candidates and know we have the makings of an excellent prefect team.

“The girls will find themselves with quite a different remit over the coming weeks but I am really looking forward to seeing them stepping up to this new and exciting leadership challenge.”

Alexia said: “I am absolutely delighted to be the new Head of Day and feel so honoured to be able to represent our school in this way! I’m now really looking forward to getting started with my role.”

Juliet said: “I am delighted to have been given this opportunity to represent the School as a member of the Head Trio and I cannot wait to see what this next year will hold.”